The closing of schools across the United States has been a disaster for most students, families, and teachers. But in some places, educators are making things work, and even finding ideas that could outlast the pandemic and transform American schooling for the better.

WHO WE ARE

In this reporting collaborative, the Education Labs at AL.com, the Dallas Morning News, Fresno Bee and Seattle Times partnered with The Christian Science Monitor, Hechinger Report and Solutions Journalism Network to produce this series of solutions-oriented stories.

Join the discussion!

Do you want to hear directly from the students, educators and experts in these stories? Hear what they have to say in a virtual panel discussion on Wednesday, March 31 at 10 a.m. Pacific, 12 p.m. Central, 1 p.m. Eastern.

Meet the students who say remote learning works just fine

Some students are finding that learning remotely, while challenging, has its upsides. What factors are leading them to succeed?