The NAEP Validity Studies Panel was formed by American Institutes for Research under contract with the National Center for Education Statistics. Points of view or opinions expressed in this paper do not necessarily represent the official positions of the U.S. Department of Education or American Institutes for Research.

Panel Members:

Peter Behuniak

University of Connecticut

George W. Bohrnstedt

American Institutes for Research

James R. Chromy

Research Triangle Institute

Phil Daro

Strategic Education Research Partnership (SERP) Institute

Richard P. DurĂ¡n

University of California, Santa Barbara

David Grissmer

University of Virginia

Larry Hedges

Northwestern University

Gerunda Hughes

Howard University

Ina V. S. Mullis

Boston College

Scott Norton

Council of Chief State School Officers

James Pellegrino

University of Illinois at Chicago

Gary Phillips

American Institutes for Research

Lorrie Shepard

University of Colorado at Boulder

David Thissen

University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Karen Wixson

University of North Carolina at Greensboro